Memory Remix

There aren’t too many songs that I connect with certain memories that I can think of. However every time I hear a good mashup or remix it brings back to when I was taking my History of Rock n’ Roll back at my old community college. We discussed the art of taking different songs and combining them to make something new. Many people think this appropriation is stealing and not real art, which just proves that it is. Anyone familiar with postmodernism should know this. What I like about it is that it takes songs that are often from different times and seamlessly makes a new song, and that in turn fuses different memories I have from when those songs got a lot of airtime. Here’s really good mashup I found:

Yes, it has Rick Astley. No, I’m not trying to Rickroll you, seriously it goes good with Avicii.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/prompt-remind-me/

6 Comments

Filed under Art

6 responses to “Memory Remix

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  2. Pingback: The Surfs of Yesteryear | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Abstract Alliterative Acrostalyptica” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: of leaving | Anawnimiss

Leave a Reply

