My Didgeridoo

I’ve never been a musical type, nobody in my family is. When I was little I had a variety of toy instruments like miniature bongo, a harmonica, that sort of thing, but none of those were designed well enough to produce ear pleasing music. There was a catalog that my mom subscribed to that sold toys and children’s books that were much higher quality than most found in stores. One day I was leafing through it and one of the items they sold was a didgeridoo. It sounded like the coolest thing ever, it even came with an instructional CD! My mom ordered it for me (most likely paying for it with my birthday/Christmas money), and a few days later we went to the post office to pick it up.

Before seeing it in the catalog I’d never heard of a didgeridoo, let alone heard what they sound like. I blew and blew on it but it produced no sound, so I popped in the CD. Hearing the unique sound was mesmerizing, even more thrilling when I could produce it myself. So many years have passed that I don’t know how long I actually practiced playing it, but I got bored with it. The last track on the CD was about circular breathing, which I could never get the hang of. I learned all of the cool sound tricks you can do with the diaphragm and tongue, but that doesn’t do much good when you can only play for under a minute. Eventually I got bored with it and haven’t played since. At least it was only like $40.

File:Didgeridoo (Imagicity 1070).jpg

Said catalog is still around, and there items are as good as I remember them. Here is there website: http://www.hearthsong.com/

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/strike-a-chord/

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “My Didgeridoo

  1. Pingback: Scandalous love. | The Hempstead Man

  2. I had never heard of your instrument of choice… googled… it looks very difficult to play?

  3. I was advised to take up the didgeridoo to aid my sleep apnea. I too think it’s a fascinating instrument, but I simply lack the discipline…

Leave a Reply

