Another Year Slipping Away

Technically we’re still in Summer, another whopping two days left of it. Almost all the trees on my campus are evergreen’s so they aren’t really effected by the change in seasons. At my house there are two huge vine maples and every year they shed all their leaves and turn the lawn into a quilt of red, yellow, and orange. This doesn’t sadden me, nor does it bring me any sense of joy. Instead it signals that the year is slipping away. Halloween is around the corner, and once that hits soon Thanksgiving, Christmas, and ultimately New Year’s will follow. That is always what it meant to me.

Memories of prior holiday seasons begin to return, and usually I can sort out the highlight of each one even if I can’t pinpoint the year. Now the years come and go faster than ever for me.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/autumn-leaves/

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

