Un Poco (a little)

I believe we have limited control over our future but I wouldn’t call it “destiny”, as I don’t really believe in that sort of thing. Circumstance defines the way I see the world around me. My existence (as well as the existence of everyone and everything else) I attribute to many random factors coming together. When and where I was born, the way I look, my strengths and weaknesses, my beliefs and values, are all the results of circumstances which are beyond my control. Beyond anyone’s control in some cases. I do think that in America we are given control over the path we want to take in life. We can choose what path(s) to take, but what will happen down the road is beyond our control. How we handle what gets thrown at us is what should be emphasized, as we do have control of that. On the other hand, a lot of how we do what we do is influenced by our circumstances. Had I been born in a different area, with a different skin color, with parents of a different career, with two X chromosomes, or anything else I would be a different person entirely.

“Take but degree away, untune that string,/And, hark, what discord follows” – Troilus and Cressida

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/26/prompt-que-sera-sera/

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Un Poco (a little)

  1. Pingback: Fate, Faith and Excuse (Or the Man With the Funny Hat) | jigokucho

  2. Pingback: Que Sera Sera | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  3. Pingback: B.Kaotic

  4. Pingback: Que Sera Sera | Alexia Jones

  5. Pingback: Fate Or Destiny Or Whatever? | Edward Hotspur

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt – Que Sera Sera | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 85] מה יהיה יהיה (post is in English) | Never A Worry

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  9. Pingback: Life of Positivity | Views Splash!

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | My Atheist Blog

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  12. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – A Poetic Duet With A Shade Of Pen – “Destiny’s Kiss” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  13. Pingback: Destiny’s Kiss « A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

