It Began At a Boy Scout Meeting

My original troop had dissolved around 2007 so I wasn’t active for a couple years. One day in 2009 decided to check out the other non Mormon troop that was active in town. I met my best friend on that first meeting. It was an unremarkable introduction, but that was the circumstance that we met in. Just like pretty much any other friend I have met. I am often percieved to be shy and even antisocial, but I’m not; it’s just that it can take me a while to open up around people I have just met. After a few meetings we were pretty much friends, and over the next few years we went on many camping trips, hikes, parades, fundraisers, urban outings, video game conventions, and all manner of other activities.

As we aged out of Boy Scouts and our Venture Crew turned out to be a “attend pointless meetings club” we started hanging out less and less. Now we haven’t seen eachother in person for over a year. We still texted fairly often, until around last November when he mysteriously stopped returning my texts. At first I just thought that was odd, but my mind resorted to wild speculation as time went on. Eventually it reached to point where I was wondering if maybe he had died somehow and I had not been informed. That was enough to scare me out of calling his home phone, when I did back in January it turned out his phone broke and he couldn’t get a new one. Now I call him from time to time. Most friends I lose contact with and that’s that, but not with him. In fact, he’s one of the only people I know in real life who actually reads my blog. Every once in a while I will tell people that I have a blog but hardly anyone asks where they can find it, let alone has actually visited it.

Best friend, you know who you are. You’ve been a good friend to me, and that means something.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/prompt-something-so-strong/

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “It Began At a Boy Scout Meeting

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Something So Strong | Cancer Isn't Pink

Leave a Reply

