“Tomorrow you’re going to be four!”

I remember my mom telling me that as she tucked me in bed one night. It’s the earliest discernable memory I have that I can put a date on. That must have occured on January 2nd, 1998. I have a few memories that are possibly earlier. I remember very clearly the first time I saw Pokemon, that may have occured as early as 1997. I turned on the TV in my room, and the themesong was playing, and I was enthralled from that moment. It was the episode where Ash competes against the kid who dressed like a samurai, and Pikachu wins a very narrow victory against Scyther. Yes, I remember it that clearly. This was when my family lived on base in Japan, I can still picture the layout of our house and what our neighborhood looked like. Another thing I remember was thinking that Japan didn’t look that different from America, except of course that people who lived off base didn’t speak English. I’m not sure why I thought that, maybe it was because US military bases there basicly are little American enclaves. Having no memories of before we moved there (I was still a baby), I did not think living there was a big deal at at all.

I also remember a commercial that had people riding jetpacks made of giant upside down beer cans. Yes, you read that correctly.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/prompt-our-house/

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to ““Tomorrow you’re going to be four!”

  1. Pingback: The rising of the Sap Nymph: an erotic poem | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  2. Pingback: Our House: Slugs and Stairs | Fun with Depression

  3. Pingback: I freaking love this house | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: Our House | viver para contar

  5. Pingback: The Camino Plan | There’s No Place That’s Home

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Empty space? | Words 'n Pics...

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Our House | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Pingback: The Home on Leland Ave. | Love.Books.Coffee.

Leave a Reply

