Yo deseo hablar español

I have the misfortune of being one of those Hispanics who don’t speak Spanish. My dad does, he grew up bilingual and was even his squad’s translator in the Panama War, but by the time I was born he was so out of touch with that world that it didn’t dawn on him to teach me or my siblings. His parents were the first generation to learn English, and all it took was two generations for Spanish to be lost (of my twelve cousins, I only know of three who know it). Not knowing Spanish is one of the handful of things that make me feel very disconnected from my culture. Every time I go to a Latino Student Alliance meeting everyone else wil go back and forth between the two languages, only to remember that I can’t understand half of what they are saying.

Spanish would still be my choice even if I wasn’t Hispanic. It’s definitely the most practical  one for anyone in the Western Hemisphere. I did my two years of Spanish and I really struggled with it. I got by with grades and was happy with that.

It’s okay one of my maternal great grandfathers was 100% Italian, but was deliberately not taught Italian because his parents wanted to have private conversations in his presence. Selfish bastards! 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/daily-post-take-that-rosetta/

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Yo deseo hablar español

  1. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Spanish Lessons For The Road

  2. Pingback: Parlez Vous Francais? | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  3. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: Speak To Me | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

