I wish I read more

My plan for this Summer was to spend most of it reading. When I was younger I read quite a bit but I fell out of habit for several years and I just largely stopped reading for fun. I grew up without cable (so it was a huge deal when I got to watch Spongebob at a friends’ house), and when my family finally got a satellite I started watching TV and not reading as much. When I got a 360 was the final nail, especially since I had about two or three years of games to catch up on.

So it was for the next few years. When I started junior college I began to read a ton, much more than I ever had before. However all that was for school, and then I certainly had no time to read. When I took my creative writing class in my last quarter I had decided that this Summer I would be reading a lot. Well, it didn’t happen. My Summer turned out to be to busy for that, as I went to Disneyland, Montana and Yellowstone, in addition to my overnight campus orientation. When I wasn’t doing any of that I was pretty much either blogging or watching Breaking Bad; which incidently started showing right when I first got satellite but I didn’t start watching until this June when AMC began to replay the entire series to prepare for the Final Episodes.

“I’ll just read some other time!” Was a common thought.

However, when I start university I will finally be reading fiction again. I signed up for a Russian Literature class and a Theological Literature (I’m going to a Benedictine school)one. Both of those have like seven books apiece, so this semester I will more than compensate for my lack of reading this Summer. I have never had any desire to read Anna Karenina, but I will have to. Needless to say I won’t be able to choose what books I will be reading.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/daily-prompt-time/

7 Comments

Filed under Travel

7 responses to “I wish I read more

  1. I wish I read more too so I wish you luck with this one! I also go through stages of life where I read more or less. I’m on a “less” trend at the moment, but it is what it is. One of my favourite classes in university was my first year English class – Chaucer to Eliot. I still remember it well. All the best with university!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Procrastination Time Again… | planningforaccidents

  5. Pingback: Procrastination? I only manage my time in a unique way. | Embroid Yourself

  6. Pingback: The sound of silence | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

